Bible Term: Old Testament

The Bible is a book of books, 66 books* altogether, written over a period of hundreds of years by many different authors. These 66 books are divided into two parts, the Old Testament and the New Testament.

The Old Testament contains 39 books** and addresses the formation, existence, and demise of the nation of Israel, the time frame prior to the life of Jesus. The Old Testament books are categorized as follows:

For a good summary of the Old Testament, see Acts 7:2-46; Acts 13:17-23 is even more concise. Also, see the overview of books in the Old Testament.

Here is a list of the books in the Old Testament:

* The Roman Catholic Church includes
additional books in their Old Testament.
See Apocrypha for more information.

**The Hebrew Bible includes the same
writings of the 39 Old Testament books
but combine some books together,
resulting in 24 books.

Free Bible Reading Tip Sheet!

Bogged down reading the Bible?

Good news: there's hope! Reading the Bible can be a meaningful experience. Check out 10 Tips to Turn Bible Reading from Drudgery to Delight

Let me know your email address. Then I'll email you my free Bible reading guide and add you to my mailing list. (Unsubscribe at any time.)

Get 10 Tips to Turn Bible Reading from Drudgery to Delight today!
(No worries. I won't spam you. Unsubscribe at any time.) Powered by ConvertKit